Planning and Asset Management

Who We Are

The Planning and Asset Management Department supports our students, staff and community through short- and long-term facility planning. The team works to advance the district initiative to modernize all schools to support 21st century learning.

Beth Wilson

Executive Director
beth.wilson@austinisd.org
512-414-9841

Melissa Laursen, AICP

Director of Planning
melissa.laursen@austinisd.org
512-414-8942

Richard Hamett

Planning Analyst
richard.hamett@austinisd.org
512-414-9733

Abby Weiss, AICP

Senior Planner
abigail.weiss@austinisd.org

512- 414-9735

Julia Maldonado

Executive Assistant I
julia.maldonado@austinisd.org
512-414-2667

Lydia Venegas

Administrative Assistant II
lydia.venegas@austinisd.org
512-414-9720

Jeremy Striffler

Director of Real Estate
jeremy.striffler@austinisd.org
512-414-3051

 

Paul Turner

Administrator
paul.turner@austinisd.org
512-414-3685

Adrienne Bedford

Facility Use Program Specialist
adrienne.bedford@austinisd.org
512-414-0331

Estella Flesch

Clerk
estella.flesch@austinisd.org
512-414-0546

Margaret Reyes

Management Assistant
margaret.reyes@austinisd.org
512-414-0355

What We Do: Planning

  • Collaborate with the Austin ISD community – parents, community members, advisory bodies, teachers, district staff, community partners, and other stakeholders on long-range planning efforts.
  • Plan for future bond programs to align with strategic vision of the district and the Board-adopted Facilities Master Plan.
  • Ensure new school facilities are designed to meet Educational Specifications.
  • Analyze 5- and 10-year student enrollment and population projections developed by a K-12 demographic consultant, as well as residential development trends to plan for shifts in school population and enrollment.
  • Monitor and analyze the capacity and space utilization for each school.
  • Create maps using GIS to analyze and display spatial data.
  • Prepare Educational Impact Statements for the City of Austin to determine the effect of proposed residential developments and demolition projects on AISD schools.
  • Provide data analysis and maps for other district departments.
  • Collaborate with the City of Austin, Travis County and other organizations on partnership opportunities.

What We Do: Asset Management

The Asset Management team is responsible for all real estate issues relating to district-owned properties, acquisition of land, and intergovernmental partnerships.

  • Oversee the acquisition of land needed for new schools, modernizations or additions, including land contract negotiations and survey, environmental, feasibility and appraisal coordination
  • Oversee the sale or long-term leases of district declared surplus properties
  • Management of real estate records (deeds, title policies, leases, license agreements, and other documents)
  • Work with other agencies on property related issues
  • Coordination with AISD’s Director of Intergovernmental Relations on partnership opportunities
  • Oversee the school repurposing process
  • Facility Use

Contact Information

Jeremy Striffler
Director of Real Estate
4000 S. IH 35 Frontage, 4th Floor
Austin, TX 78704
jeremy.striffler@austinisd.org
Office: 512-414-3051