School Safety and Security Committee

Your Voice Matters: Any parent who is interested in becoming a member should fill out the online Standard Application Form (English or Spanish) to apply. 

Under provisions of Section 37.109 of the Texas Education Code, and district policy BDF (Local), the School Safety and Security Committee is established by the Board of Trustees.

The responsibilities of the School Safety & Security Committee shall include, but are not limited to:

Developing and implementing emergency plans, consistent with the district multi-hazard emergency operations plan, to ensure that specific campus, facility, and support service needs are addressed.

  • Periodically providing recommendations to the Board and Superintendent regarding updating the district multi-hazard emergency operations plan, in accordance with established best practices.
  • Providing the district with any campus, facility, or support services information required in connection with safety and security audit or other reports.
  • Reviewing each report required to be submitted by the district to the Texas School Safety Center to ensure that the report contains accurate and complete information regarding each campus, facility, and support services in accordance with established criteria.
  • Consulting with local law enforcement agencies on methods to increase law enforcement presence near district campuses.

How can I learn more?

Detailed information about the SSSC is contained in the SSSC Bylaws. Under provisions of Section 37.109 of the Texas Education Code, CK(LEGAL), and district policy CK(LEGAL), the School Safety and Security Committee. More information about membership, meetings will be available soon.

To apply for membership, please complete and submit the standard application form: English / Spanish

2023-24 School Safety & Security Committee Members

Name Title

Dr. Jacob Reach

Chief Officer of Intergovernmental Relations & Board Services
Ali Ghilarducci Chief of Communications & Community Engagement
Rosalinda Rivera Parent Support Specialist
Dr. Melvin Bedford Austin HS Principal
Christine Steenport Chief Officer of Operations
Kevin Foster AISD Trustee
Arati Singh AISD Board President
Bill Wilson Chief Emergency Plans Officer, Homeland Security and Emergency Management (City of Austin)
Matias Segura AISD Interim Superintendent
Alana Bejarano Director Health Services
Robin Henderson  Interim Chief of Police - City of Austin
Wayne Sneed AISD Chief of Police
Amber Watts Parent
Oscar Adams Associate Director of Discipline Standards & Accountability
Zach Craddock Chief of School for Third Future
David Simon Director of Emergency Management
Thomas Paige Emergency Management Coordinator
Adam Aniol Emergency Management Specialist
Zachary Reagan Emergency Management Specialist
David DeLeon Teacher
Charlene Danel Parent
Carlos Garcia, J.D. Teacher
Vanesa Maya Student
Fuerza Linda Kitcher Community Member