Welcome to the General Counsel's Office!

The General Counsel's Office is responsible for handling designated legal matters for the District within the framework of the philosophy and objectives established by Board policy, federal and state constitutional law and statutes, and standards of federal and state regulatory agencies, and in accordance with administrative regulations and procedures.

The attorneys within the General Counsel's Office provide legal advice and counsel to District and campus administrators with respect to matters pertaining to or implicating the District's interests.

The attorneys represent the District in matters in judicial or administrative proceedings, and work with outside counsel with respect to matters in which outside counsel have been assigned to provide services for the District. The attorneys do not represent individual administrators, and do not provide counsel to any District employee in the employee's individual capacity.

The General Counsel's Office is routinely involved in reviewing prospective contracts with vendors, processing responses to open records requests, assisting District administration in the parent-student and employee complaint process, and the training of administrative and other staff on matters of Board policy and legal compliance generally. The attorneys also assist with special education and employment matters as well as general civil rights issues. 

The General Counsel's Office is available by phone at (512) 414-9813, and by facsimile at (512) 414-9878. For quality assurance, all calls may be recorded.

Our Staff:

Ylise Janssen
General Counsel
(512) 414-9812
ylise.janssen@austinisd.org

Edna Ramón Butts
Director, Intergovernmental Relations & Policy Oversight
(512) 414-3960
edna.butts@austinisd.org

Jamie Cameron Turner
Staff Attorney
(512) 414-6425
jamie.turner@austinisd.org 

Jennifer Gamez
Paralegal
(512) 414-9813
jennifer.gamez@austinisd.org

Bridget Bolden
Executive Assistant
(512) 414-3974
bridget.bolden@austinisd.org

Kirk Agee
Law Clerk
(512) 414-0052
kirk.agee@austinisd.org