Early Childhood Education

Early Childhood Education

The Early Childhood Department provides support for the implementation of early childhood curriculum as well as develops curriculum that ensures best teaching practices and developmentally prepares students for the rigors of kindergarten and beyond.

Pre-K at Austin ISD

Austin ISD Pre-K offers a nurturing, challenging environment to help children develop the skills they need to succeed throughout their school career. Pre-K years are a period of rapid growth for a child, and the key concepts they develop in the Pre-K classroom directly correlate to their future academic success.

AISD offers Pre-K for 3- and 4-year-olds at schools throughout the city. Every Pre-K class is taught by a certified teacher who has been specially trained to work with young learners. The student/teacher ratio for Pre-K3 is 16:2 and the student/teacher ratio for Pre-K4 is 19:1.

Pre-K classes follow the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines and use a research-based curriculum. Pre-K academic lessons are interwoven with purposeful play and social activities. Schedules vary from campus to campus, so check with your child's school for specifics. View sample Pre-K schedules.

For questions about Pre-K, please contact your neighborhood school, email earlychildhood@austinisd.org or call 512-414-PreK.

Kindergarten

Austin ISD kindergarten sets the stage for students to achieve a lifetime of educational success. A rigorous, research-based curriculum is paired with engaging activities designed for early childhood.

Every kindergarten class is taught by a certified teacher who has been specially trained to work with young learners. There are 22 students in each kindergarten class.

Kindergarten classes follow the required Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills. The TEKS identify the skills and concepts that 5-year-olds are expected to know and able to demonstrate by the completion of the kindergarten year.

For questions about kindergarten, please contact your neighborhood school, email tammy.hopkins@austinisd.org or call 512-414-4790.

 

Contact Us

Early Childhood Director

Ami Cortes Castillo
512-414-4740
ami.cortes@austinisd.org

Administrative Supervisor

Melinda Servantez
512-414-7485
melinda.servantez@austinisd.org

 

Early Childhood Specialist

Mary Allen
512-414-9682
mary.allen@austinisd.org

 

Administrative Assistant

Tammy Hopkins
512-414-4790
tammy.hopkins@austinisd.org

 

Early Childhood Specialist

Kyla Morgan
512-414-7485
kyla.morgan@austinisd.org

 

Early Childhood Specialist

Rachel Robinson
512-414-0032
rachel.robinson@austinisd.org

 
 

Early Childhood Specialist

Gina Apostolou
512-414-7487
gina.apostolou@austinisd.org

 
 

Early Childhood Specialist

Irene Campos
512-841-6561
irene.campos@austinisd.org

Accounting Technician

Diana Perez
512-414-9684
diana.perez@austinisd.org

 

Clerk

Jessica Jaiswal
512-414-7735
jessica.jaiswal@austinisd.org