District Announces Schools Frozen to Transfers for 2018–19

Austin ISD has announced the names of schools that will be frozen to transfers during the 2018–19 school year.

Each year, AISD determines which schools should be frozen to transfers because they have, or are expected to have, enrollments that exceed their capacities. 

Schools to be frozen to transfers in 2018–19:

  • High schools: Akins, Bowie and McCallum

  • Middle schools: Lamar and Murchison

  • Elementary schools: Baldwin, Baranoff, Becker (PK–2)*, Blazier, Brentwood, Bryker Woods, Casis, Cowan, Davis, Doss, Gullett, Hill, Kiker, Lee (K–5)**, Maplewood, Mathews, Menchaca, Oak Hill, Reilly (PK–2)*, Ridgetop, Summitt, Sunset Valley (PK–2)* and Zilker.
    *These grades will accept dual language applications.
    **Lee Elementary will be frozen from K–5 to accommodate a construction project but will continue to accept transfers for sixth grade.

Priority transfer requests–sibling, tracking and majority-to-minority transfers—will only be accepted at schools that have space, which does not include frozen schools.

Requests for transfers for the 2018-19 school year may be submitted online, in person, by mail and via fax to the Office of Student Services. In-district requests will be accepted Jan. 2–31, 2018. All requests submitted during that time will receive equal consideration.

The district will begin accepting requests for out-of-district transfers Feb. 1, 2018.

For more information, please visit https://www.austinisd.org/transfer or call the Office of Student Services at 512-414-1726.