Board Elects Officers, Welcomes New Trustees

The first official actions of Austin ISD's new board of trustees included electing At-large District 8 Trustee Gina Hinojosa as president of the board, District 5 Trustee Amber Elenz as vice president and District 2 Trustee Jayme Mathias as secretary.

"I am excited to work with the tremendous talent on this board," Hinojosa said. "I am truly honored to serve as president."

Trustees chose their new officers as part of a special board meeting Jan. 6 that included recognitions of outgoing board members and the swearing-in ceremony of four new members and current member Robert Schneider.

The evening also featured performances by student musicians from Anderson, Bowie, McCallum and Travis high schools and Kealing Middle School.

Board members sworn into office were:

  • Dr. Edmund T. Gordon, District 1
  • Julie Cowan, District 4
  • Paul Saldaña, District 6
  • Robert Schneider, District 7
  • Kendall Pace, At-Large Position 9

The entire Austin ISD Board of Trustees is made up of nine members who serve four-year terms. 

Trustees are unpaid representatives who guide the district, represent community expectations and establish policies for operating the district and ensuring its financial viability. The board also employs the superintendent, approves the budget and monitors expenditures, sets the tax rate and may call for a bond or tax rate election. 

Throughout the month of January, Austin ISD celebrates School Board Recognition Month. The board's next regular meeting, on Jan. 26, will include student performances, artwork and a recognition ceremony.