More than 100 AISD Schools Earn No Place for Hate Designation in 2012-13

The Austin Independent School District is on its way to becoming the largest district in the state to earn the designation as a No Place for Hate district, a distinction that represents the district’s commitment to creating and maintaining an inclusive and culturally proficient school environment.

Launched in 2001, No Place for Hate® is a national initiative that provides educators and students with resources to ensure that anti-bias and diversity education are an integral part of the school curriculum. It helps to create and sustain inclusive school environments where all students feel valued and have the opportunity to succeed by promoting respect for individual difference while challenging bigotry and prejudice.

Working with the Anti-Defamation League, all schools in AISD and the AISD Central Office will be designated “No Place for Hate” by the beginning of the 2014-15 school year. In the 2011-12 school year, 69 AISD schools earned the designation. Earlier this month, 103 schools in the district were recognized for earning the designation in the 2012-13 school year. AISD’s central office has earned the designation both school years.

AISD’s participation in the program is part of the district-wide "Whole Child, Every Child" initiative, a collaborative effort of departments across AISD to expand academics and social and emotional programs that enhance the education of the whole child.  The Department of Social and Emotional Learning and the Council on Cultural Proficiency and Inclusiveness co-lead AISD’s effort.

“Austin ISD has made an amazing commitment to support student leadership through the No Place for Hate Campaign,” said Angela Ward, of AISD’s Social and Emotional Learning Department, who is spearheading the district’s initiative. “We are looking forward to another banner year as we earn the district designation and become the largest district in the state to earn the district-wide designation.”

For more information, visit

Schools and campuses that earned the No Place for Hate designation in the 2012-13 school year are:  

Akins Vertical Team
Akins HS
Paredes MS
Blazier ES
Casey ES
Kocurek ES
Langford ES
Menchaca ES
Palm ES
Perez ES

Anderson Vertical Team
Anderson HS
Murchison MS
Davis ES
Doss ES
Hill ES
Pillow ES
Summitt ES

Austin Vertical Team
Austin HS
O. Henry MS
Small MS
Barton Hills ES
Bryker Woods ES
Casis ES
Mathews ES
Oak Hill ES
Patton ES
Pease ES
Sanchez ES
Zilker ES

Bowie Vertical Team
Bailey MS
Gorzycki MS
Baranoff ES
Cowan ES
Kiker ES 

Crockett Vertical Team
Crockett HS
Bedichek MS
Covington MS
Boone ES
Cunningham ES
Galindo ES
Joslin ES
Odom ES
Pleasant Hill ES
St. Elmo ES
Sunset Valley ES
Williams ES 

Eastside Memorial Vertical Team
Eastside Memorial HS
Martin MS
Metz ES

Lanier Vertical Team
Burnet MS
McBee ES
Wooldridge ES 

LBJ Vertical Team
Garcia MS
Pearce MS
Andrews ES
Blanton ES
Harris ES
Jordan ES
Norman ES
Overton ES
Pecan Springs ES
Sims ES 

McCallum Vertical Team
McCallum HS
Kealing MS
Lamar MS
Blackshear ES
Brentwood ES
Campbell ES
Gullett ES
Highland Park ES
Lee ES
Maplewood ES
Oak Springs ES
Reilly ES
Ridgetop ES

Reagan Vertical Team
Reagan HS
Dobie MS
Webb MS
Dobie Pre-K Center
Graham ES
Hart ES
Barrington ES
Brown ES
Walnut Creek ES
Winn ES
Webb Primary School 

Travis Vertical Team
Travis HS
Fulmore MS
Mendez MS
Becker ES
Dawson ES
Houston ES
Linder ES
Rodriguez ES
Travis Heights ES
Uphaus Early Childhood Center
Widen ES

Special Campuses
Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders
Garza HS
International HS
Alternative Learning Center

AISD Central Office