AISD Announces Schools Frozen to Transfers for 2019-20

Austin ISD has announced the names of schools that will be frozen to transfers during the 2019–20 school year.

Each year the district determines which schools will be frozen to transfers. Considerations include enrollments that exceed capacity, construction and programming, such as dual language campuses.

Schools to be frozen to transfers in 2019–20:

  • High schools: Akins, Austin, Bowie, Lanier ECHS and McCallum.
  • Middle schools: Fulmore, Lamar, Murchison and Small.
  • Elementary schools: Baldwin, Baranoff, Becker (pre-k through third grade, dual language only), Blazier, Brentwood (except kindergarten), Casis (except kindergarten), Cowan, Doss, Gullett (except kindergarten), Hill, Kiker, Maplewood (except kindergarten and sixth grade), Menchaca, Oak Hill, Reilly (pre-k through third grade, dual language only), Ridgetop, Summitt (except kindergarten), Sunset Valley (pre-k through third grade, dual language only) and Zilker (except kindergarten).

Requests for student transfers for students living within AISD boundaries for the 2019-2020 school year will begin on Wednesday, Jan. 2. All in-district requests submitted Jan. 2-31 will receive equal consideration.

Priority transfers, including majority-to-minority, sibling and tracking and general transfers, will only be accepted at non-frozen schools. For a transfer to be considered as a priority transfer to a non-frozen school, it must be submitted Jan. 2–31.

Parents and guardians whose children are not eligible for a priority transfer but wish to be considered in the lottery process for non-frozen schools must also submit transfers Jan. 2-31.

Families who do not live within AISD boundaries but wish to enroll students can submit a request beginning Feb. 1, 2019.  

All requests received on or after Feb. 1 will be considered on a first-come, first -served basis.

Students who wish to attend a magnet or application program must apply directly to that program.  

For more information, please visit or call the Office of Student Services at 512-414-1726.