AISD Board Welcomes Two New Trustees

The Austin ISD Board of Trustees last night held swearing-in ceremonies for two new board members and two returning members, and thanked two outgoing trustees for their service. 

New trustees LaTisha Anderson and Kristin Ashy took their seats on the dais for the first time last night after being sworn in during the board's regular meeting.

Anderson defeated incumbent trustee Ted Gordon for the District 1 seat. Ashy will represent District 4 after trustee Julie Cowan did not seek re-election.

Board President Geronimo Rodriguez ran unopposed in District 6, as did trustee Yasmin Wagner in District 7; both were also joined by friends and family as they were sworn in. 

Superintendent Paul Cruz, trustees, students and community members thanked Gordon and Cowan for their service and dedication to AISD students. Each received a plaque recognizing their exemplary work on behalf of the district. 

New District 1 trustee LaTisha Anderson
New District 4 trustee Kristin Ashy
Returning District 7 trustee Yasmin Wagner
Returning trustee, President Geronimo Rodriguez
Outgoing trustee Julie Cowan with Superintendent Paul Cruz
Outgoing trustee Ted Gordon with student

Five seats had been on the ballot before voters Nov. 6: single-member districts 1, 4, 6 and 7, and the at-large position in District 9 that was left empty after former board president Kendall Pace resigned earlier this year.

A runoff will be held Dec. 11 for the at-large District 9 position after none of the three candidates received 50 percent or more of the vote.

Carmen Tilton earned 40.13 percent of the total, followed by Arati Singh with 36.49 percent and Sam Russo with 23.38 percent. Tilton and Singh face each other in the runoff.