Austin ISD Board of Trustees Election Results


The Austin ISD Board of Trustees will see a few new faces after Tuesday's election.

Five seats were on the ballot before voters: single-member districts 1, 4, 6 and 7, and the at-large position in District 9 that was left empty after former board president Kendall Pace resigned earlier this year. 

Board President Geronimo Rodriguez ran unopposed in District 6, as did trustee Yasmin Wagner in District 7.

In District 1, incumbent trustee Ted Gordon faced challenger LaTisha Anderson. According to unofficial results from the Travis County Clerk's elections division, Anderson has defeated Gordon with 61.83 percent of the vote.

Two candidates—Kristin Ashy and Zachary Price—vied for the District 4 seat after trustee Julie Cowan announced she would not seek re-election. Unofficial results show Ashy has won the seat with 66.51 percent of the vote.

The at-large District 9 position will head to a runoff election after none of the three candidates received 50 percent or more of the vote.

Carmen Tilton garnered the most votes, with 40.13 percent of the total. She was followed by Arati Singh (36.49 percent) and Sam Russo (23.38 percent). Tilton and Singh will face each other in Dec. 11 runoff. 

Voter turnout was high this year, with 302,027 ballots cast in this trustee election. The majority of those—236,497—were cast during early voting.

All election results are unofficial until votes are canvassed. For detailed election results, visit the Travis County Clerk's office online.