Board Welcomes New, Returning Members During Swearing-in Ceremony

The Austin ISD Board of Trustees swearing-in ceremony last night welcomed returning trustees Amber Elenz (District 5), Jayme Mathias (District 2), Ann Teich (District 3) and Yasmin Wagner (District 7).

Wagner was elected to fill the remainder of an unexpired term as the District 7 trustee after she filled the seat following the death of former trustee Robert Schneider. 

The board also welcomed new trustee Cindy Anderson to the at-large seat in District 8.

Anderson replaces the outgoing Gina Hinojosa, former board president, who leaves the district for the state House of Representatives. 

During the meeting, trustees also elected officers, with all current officers retaining their positions—Kendall Pace (at-large seat, District 9) as president, Paul Saldaña (District 6) as vice president and Julie Cowan (District 4) as secretary. 

None of the three officers or trustee Edmund T. Gordon (District 1) were up for re-election this year. 

To learn more about the board's members and responsibilities, please visit