Trustees Recognize 24 National Board-Certified Teachers

Trustees recognized 24 new National Board Certified teachers during the board's meeting April 25. 

Certification by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is one of the highest professional certifications teachers can obtain. These AISD teachers have achieved certification through the rigorous process, which requires teachers to analyze and reflect on their practices in the classroom. 

The district has a long history of supporting teachers in achieving National Board Certification, with the first cohort of 10 teachers earning their certification in 2000. Austin ISD has the distinction of having more National Board Certified teachers than any other district in Texas.

As part of AISD's commitment to the certification process, the district covers the costs of the four certification modules, pairs teachers with peer mentors who offer advice, support, training and coaching, and provides an annual $2,000 stipend to teachers who achieve the certification.

A full list of the teachers who earned their certification this year is below: 

Anderson High School

Jason Craig Farr

Ann Marie Girardot

Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders

Jamie Langley

Sharon Roy

Baranoff Elementary School

Rebecca Everett-Degelia

Susan Lee Montry

Barton Hills Elementary School

Sheila Ann Carver

Collins Van Nort

Goryzcki Middle School

Dawn Loraine Dammann

Melissa Lynn Prepster

Gullett Elementary School

Ann M. Valentino

Kocurek Elementary School

Ginger L. Boggs

Lamar Middle School

Lori Saucedo

Liberal Arts and Science Academy

Alison Earnhart

Timothy H. Fennell

Maplewood Elementary School

Prabha Balasubramanian

Menchaca Elementary School

Holly Parks Norris

Murchison Middle School

Sara Brennan

Melissa McCann Cooper

Overton Elementary School

Dr. Esmeralda Perez-Gonzalez

Patton Elementary School

Michael George Massad Sr.

Pleasant Hill Elementary School

Cristy M. Garcia

Small Middle School

Jenna Peery

Walnut Creek Elementary School

Robin J. Turner