Celina Luckevich Wins AISD Sustainability Design Contest

Bowie High School senior Celina Luckevich has been named first-place winner of the Austin ISD sustainability design contest.

Luckevich’s submission was selected from 30 student entries. She designed icons to represent the seven focus areas of the AISD sustainability program. Her icons will be used in marketing materials promoting the district's sustainability efforts.

As the winning school, Bowie will receive $500 for the purchase of design supplies or to support a campus environmental improvement project.

The contest provided students with a real-world design exercise, giving them exposure to potential career paths across multiple STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics) fields.

Austin High School student Claudia Durand earned second place and $250 for her school. Bowie sophomore Alan Alonso and senior Alberto Huezo were recognized with an honorable mention and earned $100 for their school.

EcoRise Youth Innovations and the city of Austin Office of Sustainability provided the cash prizes as part of the Bright Green Futures grant program.

The winning designs will be showcased at a celebratory event at City Hall from 5:30–7:30 p.m. June 2. 

First Place – Celina Luckevich, Bowie High School (teacher = Gina Cottone)

Second Place – Claudia Durand, Austin High School (teacher = Melanie Sherwood)

Honorable Mention, Creativity – Alan Alonso & Alberto Huezo, Bowie

Alan Varela, Bowie

Alex McBurnett, Bowie

Alex Nanez, Bowie

Angela Li & Gia Poblete, Liberal Arts & Science Academy

Ariana Alford & Charles Tuttle, Bowie

Caleb G., Small Green Tech Academy (teacher = John Beam)

Calli Fleming, Bowie

Diego G. & G.H. & Sky P. & Joseph T., Lamar Middle School (teacher = Anna Wagner)

Dylan G., Small Green Tech Academy

Elian Dominguez & Julio Dominguez, Small Green Tech Academy (teachers = Nate Rosenberg & Fred Tabares)

Emery Burkhalter, Austin High

Gaby Arenas, Bowie

Hailey B., Small Green Tech Academy

J.R. Hallie, Lamar

Jacob L., Small Green Tech Academy

Janessa Lynch & Lauren McDowell, Bowie

John Harris, Bowie

Jonathan Woo, Bowie

Justin De La Rosa & Matt Gallant, Bowie

Mansa Prasad & Jesse Yakerson, Bowie – Entry 1Entry 2

Mariah Key, Bowie

Monica Villafuerte Langford, Bowie

Rex Ellebee & Paxton Gyves, Bowie

Serena Thomason, Bowie

Skyler Silcott, Bowie

Summer Stark & Maya Trevino, Bowie