Board of Trustees Recognize National Board Certified Teachers

The Austin ISD Board of Trustees recognized teachers on their National Board certifications during the April 27 regular board meeting.

Twenty-one teachers are newly certified, and one teacher renewed certification.

National Board Certification is a voluntary certification that aims to improve the quality of teaching and learning. To receive the certification, teachers must complete a written assessment of content knowledge, reflect on student work samples, analyze teaching practices and document their accomplishments as a professional.

AISD now has 242 National Board Certified Teachers, more than any other district in Texas. AISD is also recognized as one of the top 20 districts in the nation for total number of new National Board Certified Teachers.

All National Board Certified Teachers will be honored at the annual Salute reception on May 19. 

Anderson High School

Alexa Humberson and Andrea Khawaja

Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders

Shawn Mauser and Ella Miesner

Bryker Woods Elementary School

Valerie Boreing

Clayton Elementary School

Adam Miller

Cook Elementary School

Rodrigo Rodriguez-Trovar

Crockett High School

Lupe Rodriguez

Joslin Elementary School

Sandra Valle

Maplewood Elementary School

Kelli Kirk and Stephanie Kranchick

McCallum High School

Katherine Carrasco

O. Henry Middle School

Alexis Smith

Ortega Elementary School

Joan Kean Constantin

Perez Elementary School

Allison Ashley and Maria Sebastian

Summitt Elementary School

Thuan Tang

Travis Heights Elementary School

Shannon Mefford

Walnut Creek Elementary School

Coleen Mastrianni

Widen Elementary School

Jessica Kane-Cabello

Wooldridge Elementary School

Rebecca Lambdin-Abraham

Zilker Elementary School

James Supak