More Than 40,500 Voters Cast Ballots Early in Trustee Runoff

More than 40,500 voters turned out during early voting in the runoff election to decide three seats on the Austin ISD Board of Trustees. 

Candidates in districts 1, 6 and 9 faced each other in today's runoff after none earned 50 percent or more of the vote in the Nov. 4 general election. 

According to unofficial results from Travis County:

  • District 1—Edmund Gordon (51.4 percent), David Thompson (48.6 percent)
  • District 6—Paul Saldaña (50.8 percent), Kate Mason-Murphy (49.2 percent) 
  • District 9, at-large position—Kendall Pace (64.8 percent), Hillary Procknow (35.8 percent)

A total of 40,557 votes were cast early, representing 9.79 percent of registered voters. 

All results are unofficial until votes have been canvassed by the Travis County Clerk’s Office and the canvass has been approved by the board. Trustees are scheduled to approve the canvassing at a special board meeting Dec. 24.

Five seats had been open on the board. In the Nov. 4 election, Robert Schneider was re-elected to his District 7 seat and Julie Cowan won the race for the District 4 position.

The Austin ISD Board of Trustees is made up of nine members, who serve four-year terms. 

Austin ISD board members are unpaid representatives who guide the district and represent community expectations as they plan the direction of educational programs and services.

Trustees establish policies for operating the district and ensuring its financial viability. The board also employs the superintendent, approves the budget and monitors expenditures, sets the tax rate, and may call for a bond or tax rate election. 

Follow @AustinISD on Twitter for updates throughout the night.