High School News Teams Win National Awards for Newspaper, Yearbook Photography

Two high school editorial teams in the Austin Independent School District received national recognition this weekend at the National Scholastic Press Association’s fall journalism convention.

The Akins High School newspaper staff placed seventh in the nation (for newspapers pages 9-12) and a student with the Bowie High School yearbook, led by journalism adviser Deanna Dellana, won second place at the convention for a sports action photo featured in the school’s 2011-12 yearbook.

The nation-wide contest recognizes excellence in yearbook photography and other scholastic media. The winning photo was taken last year by Bowie graduate Matt Brosig and was selected for recognition among hundreds of entries across the country.

There were 500 schools represented with more than 6,000 students at the conference. The Akins High School publication staff, led by adviser Michael Reeves, also won an unprecedented seven individual national awards in every category.

Congratulations to both of these high schools.