UT Honors Carstarphen with Community Leadership Award at Carver Museum

The University of Texas at Austin honored Superintendent Meria Carstarphen (pictured with Gregory J. Vincent, Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement and William Powers, President), at its Community Leadership Awards ceremony at the Carver Museum and Cultural Center this month.

UT recognized Carstarphen among five individuals who earned a Community Leadership Circle Award for their outstanding work in education and public service, including Albert Hawkins, retired executive commissioner of Texas Health and Human Services; Michael McDonald, assistant city manager for public safety services, City of Austin; Marc Ott, city manager for the City of Austin.

“The university is honored to recognize organizations and individuals who are pillars of our community and ground breakers in education, community service and government,” President Bill Powers said. “Through their courage and leadership, they’ve transformed the city of Austin.”

UT honored Michael Lofton, founder and executive director of the African American Men and Boys Harvest Foundation, with the June Brewer Legacy Award. The university’s Office of the President and the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement also presented Community Partnership Awards to the Austin Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Inc., Town Lake Links Inc. and the National Forum for Black Public Administrators–Central Texas Chapter.

For more information about the awards, click here >.