# Austin Independent School District Equity Advisory Committee (EAC) Meeting Minutes March 7, 2023

The AISD Equity Advisory Committee met virtually on March 7, 2023 to consider, discuss, and take action on the items listed in the agenda below. These meeting minutes are supplemented by the meeting materials and video recording, and are accessible on the EAC website.

### **ATTENDANCE**

**EAC Members** 

Andrea McIllwain Laykha Chopra Dr. Stacie Holiday
Charlene Gordon Leslie Jordan-Garcia Valerie Turullols

Cristina Torres Mary Selby Vanessa Santamaría-Dainton

Hollie Jenkins Nadia Khan Zarqa Fatima

### Community Members/AISD Staff

Adriana Cedillo Emily Sawyer Nora Gannon-Slater Amanda Ortiz Farid Razavi Dr. Stephanie Hawley

Cindy Hayden Katrina Montgomery Sundal Ali
Dr. Charisse Hollingsworth Linzy Foster Dr. Tia Clinton
Megan Buchanan Wen Nguyen

Eduardo Ramos

# 1. Welcome Meeting to Order/EAC Logistics

**1.1.** Meeting is called to order at 5:35pm by EAC Co-Chair Zarqa Fatima. Farid Razavi shares an update regarding Spanish language access during the EAC meeting.

# 2. Approval of EAC Meeting Minutes

**2.1.** EAC members approve meeting minutes from the February 2023 EAC meeting at 5:37pm.

#### 3. Public Comments

**3.1.** No public comment is made.

### 4. Budget Feedback Presentation

- **4.1.** Mr. Eduardo Ramos, Chief Financial Officer, presents the budget and the department's priorities for the next school year at 5:40pm.
- **4.2.** EAC members ask questions and engage in a discussion at 6pm.

### 5. EAC Subcommittee Recommendation Approval

- **5.1.** The majority of EAC members vote to approve the Supporting LGBTQIA2S+ Students Subcommittee recommendations at 6:23pm. 1 EAC member abstains from voting.
- **5.2.** The majority of EAC members vote to approve the Access to Student Programs Subcommittee recommendations at 6:27pm. 1 EAC member abstains from voting.

# 6. Next Steps

**6.1** Sundal Ali shares next steps for EAC subcommittee members and the date for the last EAC meeting of the year (April 4th) at 6:28pm.

## 7. Meeting Adjournment

7.1 Vanessa Santamaría-Dainton adjourns the meeting at 6:31pm.