Seed Model Campuses

Seed Model Campuses

True district change happens when we create learning structures and systems that cross campus boundaries and encourage all-district learning and communities of practice. The purpose of the Seed Model Campus Cohort is to support campuses throughout Austin ISD in their journey of goal-oriented, intentional, campus-wide SEL integration into school culture and systems. In order to engage in the process, all participants are asked to submit a proposal, which includes a combination of short-term and long-term S.M.A.R.T. goals around the following four development areas:

  • Empowering Campus Leadership

  • Coordination with Family and Community Partners

  • Coordination with Climate and Pedagogy

  • Explicit SEL Instruction

This designation is given to schools which effectively demonstrate the process of continual social and emotional growth and for each successive year they choose to engage in continued documentation of their SEL progress and goal-setting.

Austin ISD's Seed Model Campus Cohort program has grown from 19 campuses engaged in the process during the inaugural 2017-18 school year to over 70 campuses this year! 


Interested in taking a tour of our Seed Model Campuses and learning more about SEL in Austin ISD? Social and Emotional Learning tours are provided periodically during the school year. Please complete the form to notify us of your interest in visiting.