Board Briefs banner

Board Briefs: Regular Board Meeting (Feb. 24)

Anderson High School Receives National Southwest Region College board Award for Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

The board recognized Anderson High School Art Teacher Mauro Garza, Choral Music Teacher David Buessman and Principal Donna Houser, for receiving The College board Award for Excellence and Innovation in the Arts. This award celebrates the achievements of arts initiatives for students in grades 6-12 that promote learning and creativity in exemplary and innovative ways and provides funding to assist educators in sustaining and expanding their arts program. Anderson High School was one of only five high schools in the nation to receive the award.

Texas Music Education Association All-State Student Recognitions

The board recognized the following students selected to perform in the All-State Ensembles at the Texas Music Educators Association Convention in San Antonio on Feb. 15, and their teachers and principals:

Anderson High School
Jonathan Churchett, student
Claire Harvey, student
Natasha Ponomareva, student
Daniel Smarda, student
Ryan Zysk, band director
Andrea Camacho, band director
Jesus Torres, band director
Frank Nedley, band director
David Buessman, choral director
Phil Ajjarapu, choral director
Donna Houser, principal

Austin High School
Jacob Hope, student
Alan Maginn, student
Keane Tomei, student
Brian Frock, band director
Peter Acosta, band director
Andrew Furhman, band director
Ana Maria Solis-Herrera, orchestra director
Sandy Compian, principal

Bowie High School
Kyle Chenevert, student
Jordan Dinkins, student
Tyler Norris, student
Josh Stout, student
Kimberly Shuttlesworth, band director
Ryan Thomas, band director
Stephen Howard, band director
Amy Suggs, band director
Stephen Kane, principal

LBJ High School/LASA
A.J. Carter, student
Nathan Chen, student
Nick Fu, student
Gabriel Hart, student
Don Haynes, band director
Brian Mayer, band director
Ponder East, band director
Tyler Dempsey, band director
Principals: Sheila Henry and Stacia Crescenzi

McCallum High School
Jasmine Bell, student
William Brookhart, student
Jenny Hah, student
Sam Jackson, student
Emma Boardman Larson, student
Sofia Mock, student
Makena Owens, student
Hugh Pauwels, student
Corina Santos, student
Elena Villalon, student
John Walden, student
Carol Nelson, band director
Matthew Ehlers, band director
Jeff Rudy, band director
Helen Meirs, choir director
Randy Cantu, choir director
Ricky Pringle, orchestra director
Georgean Shockley, orchestra director
Mike Garrison, principal

Presentation of Preliminary FY2015 Budget (Discussion)

Chief Financial Officer Nicole Conley provided an overview of the preliminary budget for FY 2015. In March and April, the district will host two community meetings to give the public a chance to learn more about the budget and to offer input. A revised budget, reflecting feedback from the board and the public, will be presented on June 2. The final recommended budget will be presented at the Aug. 11 board meeting and will be scheduled for board action at the regular board meeting on Aug. 26.

Consideration of Recommendation of the Board's Impasse Subcommittee Regarding the Duration of Employment Contracts for Professional Employees (Action)

Beginning with the 2011-12 school year, employment contracts for professional employees were changed from three-year to one-year contracts. During the January 2014 consultation process, Education Austin and the administration reached impasse on the issue of duration of employment contracts for professional employees. As part of the impasse process outlined in district policy, a three-member board subcommittee met with both parties and, by a 2-1 vote, recommended that the board maintain one-year contracts. The full board, by a 5-4 vote, approved the extension of professional employee contracts from one year to three years.