Press Releases Banner

Three Austin Students Earn State Farm Scholar Athlete Scholarships

Three Austin students will receive the 2010-2011 State Farm Texas Scholar Athlete Hall of Fame Scholarship Award this year.

Abigail Cain, of the Liberal Arts and Science Academy at LBJ High School, will be presented her scholarship by sponsoring State Farm Agent Karen G. Easterling. The LASA High School Senior Awards and Recognition Ceremony begins at 6 p.m. Wednesday, May 25, and will be held in the Don Haynes Performing Arts Center on campus. Abigail, who plays soccer, is the first senior from LASA to receive this award.

Hana F. Setterquist, of Bowie High School, who participates in track and field and soccer, is also a recipient of the scholarship award, which was presented to her by sponsoring State Farm agent Christine C. Zenker.

Sydney E. Reed, who plays basketball and soccer for Anderson High School, was presented with her scholarship award by sponsoring State Farm agent Brent. Allen. The $1,000 scholarship is based on grade point average, class rank, academic achievements, and participation in school and community activities.

The State Farm Texas Scholar Athlete Program is the largest statewide athletic scholarship program in Texas.