Press Releases Banner

Lanier Early College High School Teacher Named 2018 Texas Teacher of the Year

The Texas Association of School Administrators announced today that Lanier Early College High School Teacher Tara Bordeaux has been chosen as the 2018 Texas Secondary Teacher of the Year and will represent the state as Texas Teacher of the Year in the National Teacher of the Year competition. This is the second year in a row that an AISD teacher has received this honor.
Bordeaux has taught media arts at Lanier High School since 2013. Prior to that, she spent 10 years working in television and film production in Los Angeles. She holds a bachelor's degree in film and photography from the University of Texas at Arlington.
In her four years as an educator, Bordeaux has built a nationally recognized media arts program. Her students' work has been featured in national advertising for Alamo Drafthouse Theaters, PSAs televised on PBS and documentary short films premiered at SXSWedu. It has also won multiple awards in film production competitions.
"I know firsthand how hard life can be on a young heart, and I know how easy it is to give up. I know, because I did, and I dropped out of high school," said Bordeaux"My hope is that, as a teacher, I can inspire my students to persevere and succeed in ways I never could. I believe that every student deserves the opportunity to learn from teachers who truly care about the impact they are making in a child's life," she said. "I chose to become a teacher because I wanted to give students the chance to chase their dreams and learn how to believe in themselves even if the world gives them reasons to stop believing."

Marissa Torres, a third-grade teacher from White Settlement ISD, is the 2018 Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year.
"I congratulate Tara and Marissa on this achievement. Texas Teacher of the Year is the highest honor our state bestows upon its teachers," said Johnny L. Veselka, executive director of TASA. "These dedicated educators work hard to create learner-centered environments that inspire students to reach their full potential."

The announcement was made at the Texas Teacher of the Year awards luncheon at the Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum. Both state-level winners will receive a cash award and a commemorative trophy.

Also honored during the luncheon were the regional Teachers of the Year and the finalists for Texas Teacher of the Year: Amy Hooten, Paris ISD; Andrea Lucas, San Antonio ISD; Andrea Garza, United ISD; and Gary Strickland, Coleman ISD.

To achieve recognition as Texas Elementary or Secondary Teacher of the Year, a teacher must first be chosen as a campus and district teacher of the year, then a regional honoree. From the group of 40 regional teachers of the year, six finalists are chosen and interviewed by an independent panel of judges composed of representatives of education associations, community and business leaders, a member of the State Board for Educator Certification, a member of the State Board of Education and prior Texas Teachers of the Year.

The state's top elementary and secondary teachers are selected from these six finalists, and the Texas nominee for National Teacher of the Year is chosen from the top two winners.

The Texas Teacher of the Year program has honored excellence in classroom education since 1969 and continues to annually recognize and reward teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching.
TASA is the professional association for Texas school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. TASA's mission is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.