Press Releases Banner

Conversation Corps to Discuss AISD Budget

Conversations will be held throughout May to gather community input

AISD wants feedback from the community on ways it can provide the best service to its families with a fiscally sound budget.

Throughout the month of May, Conversation Corps’ partnering agencies bring an opportunity to participate in discussions across the city and to share thoughts on shaping the AISD budget plans for FY2018 to FY2020. 

The input gathered from the community will be presented to the AISD Trustees and considered when developing the proposed budget.

Visit conversationcorps.org for conversation locations and times.

Conversations already scheduled include:

Tuesday, May 10

Wednesday, May 11

Thursday, May 12

Sunday, May 15

Monday, May 16

Tuesday, May 17

Wednesday, May 18

Thursday, May 19

Sunday, May 22

Wednesday, May 25

Saturday, May 28

* Indicate conversations in Spanish.

Conversation Corps envisions an Austin in which all residents have the opportunity to participate in hosted conversations about Austin where they live, work and play. Every month, groups meet all around town for facilitated dialogue, discussing the same “issue of the month.” Conversations take place in a variety of venues—schools, houses of worship, community centers, coffee shops and restaurants—and last about an hour.

Trained facilitators lead each group through a structured dialogue, giving everyone a chance to share their thoughts and respond to what they have heard others say. Input from the dialogue is then delivered to the decision-makers of each issue. Participants are given the resources needed to stay in the loop and hear how their feedback affected decisions.

This initiative is a collaboration between the City of Austin, Capital Metro and AISD and is being administered in partnership with Leadership Austin.

For more information, please contact Leadership Austin’s Program Manager Julie Smith at 512-499-0435 or the City of Austin’s Communications and Public Information Office at 512-974-2220.