Press Releases Banner

Austin ISD Salutes Teaching Excellence

Austin, TX—Austin Independent School District and Austin Partners in Education will pay tribute to teaching excellence throughout the district during Salute, an annual event recognizing teachers and staff members.

AISD will announce the Austin Teacher of the Year during the event. The recipient will serve as the district's nominee for the Texas Teacher of the Year program. This year's finalists are Tracy Graham at Cowan Elementary, Alicia Brown-Forbes at Webb Middle School and Matt Earhart at Anderson High School.

The district also will name the Principal of the Year and Classified Staff of the Year. Finalists for Principal of the Year are Joel De La Garza at Pickle Elementary, Blaine Helwig at Graham Elementary and Donna Houser at Anderson High School. Classified Staff of the Year finalists are Rosalinda Rivera at Pickle Elementary, Janice Snyder at Crockett High School and Diana Luna de Valladares at Cunningham Elementary.

The Anderson High School Trojan Belles, McCallum High School steel drum band, Gorzycki Middle School band, Bowie High School jazz band, Anderson High School quartet and Allison Elementary School choir will perform.

Who: Superintendent Meria Carstarphen, Board of Trustees President Mark Williams, Austin Partners in Education President Mark Curry, AISD teachers and staff members

What: Salute, honoring teaching excellence throughout the district

When: 6 to 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 23

Where: Long Center for the Performing Arts, 701 W. Riverside Dr.

To learn more about Salute, please visit