Press Releases Banner

AISD Trustees Approve School Improvement and Reconstitution Plans and Appoint Principals for New Schools

AUSTIN, TEXAS—Tonight, Austin ISD Board of Trustees approved school improvement plans for Rodriguez Elementary School, Dobie, Garcia, Martin, and Pearce Middle Schools, Eastside Memorial High School at the Johnston Campus, Lanier, LBJ, and Travis High Schools, Rosedale School and Travis County Day School.

Board members approved reconstitution plans for Garcia and Pearce Middle Schools, and LBJ High School.

For more information about the school improvement plans and reconstitution plans please visit


Principal Appointments


The Board of Trustees approved the appointment of Ivette Savina for the Single-Sex School for Young Women in District 1. Savina currently serves as principal of Northwest Early College High School in the Canutillo Independent School District. Under her leadership at the school, student achievement increased significantly. Mrs. Savina also made improvements in the number of students earning college credits while in high school. She previously served as an assistant principal at Mission Early College High School in Socorro ISD, a campus staff development and instructional support specialist and a classroom teacher at the high school level.

Trustees also approved the appointment of Rafael Soriano as principal of the new North Central Elementary School Number 2. Soriano is currently serving in his fifth year as the principal of AISD’s McBee Elementary School, where he also served as the assistant principal for three years prior. Additionally, Soriano has served as an assistant principal at Martin Middle School and a bilingual classroom teacher in AISD for six years.