Press Releases Banner

AISD Announces Schools Frozen to Transfers for 2016-17

Last night, Austin ISD announced the names of 23 schools that will be frozen to transfers during the 2016-17 school year.
Each year, AISD determines which schools should be frozen to transfers because they have, or are expected to have, enrollments that exceed their capacities. Some schools also are frozen to maintain stability in tracking patterns.
Schools frozen to transfers in 2016-17 are:
  • High schools: Akins, Anderson and Bowie
  • Middle schools: Gorzycki, Lamar and Murchison
  • Elementary schools: Baldwin, Baranoff, Barrington, Becker, Blazier, Brentwood, Casis, Clayton, Cowan, Davis, Doss, Gullett, Hill, Kiker, Menchaca, Oak Hill and Webb Primary
Beginning with the 2016-17 school year, in an effort to ease overcrowding, majority-to-minority priority transfers will only be accepted at schools that have space. This will not include frozen schools. 
Requests for in-district student transfers for the 2016-17 school year may be submitted in person or by mail to the Office of Student Services. Requests will be accepted Jan. 4-29, 2016. All requests submitted during that time will receive equal consideration.
The district will begin accepting requests for out-of-district transfers Feb. 1, 2016.
For more information, please visit or call the Office of Student Services at 512-414-1726.