Press Releases Banner

30 AISD Teachers Earn National Board Certification

Austin, TX—Tonight, the Board of Trustees for the Austin Independent School District recognized 30 newly certified or renewed teachers through the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. Austin ISD employs more National Board Certified Teachers than any other Texas district. Austin ISD boasts 243 National Board Certified Teachers for the 2011-12 school year.

2011 National Board Certified Teachers

Akins High School

Bonnie Hauser

Anderson High School

Heather Schulman, Sabrina Thomas, and John Villarreal

Austin High School

Gayle Andrews and Katherine Holbrook

Bowie High School

Martha Anne Kuntz, Dana Richard, and Denise Sanders

Crockett High School

Virginia Gannaway

International High School

Kyle Olson

McCallum High School

Carey West

Covington Middle School

Shannan Peterson

Fulmore Middle School

Elizabeth Abernathy

O. Henry Middle School

Deanna Sylvia

Murchison Middle School

Megan Tesano

Webb Middle School/REACH

Linda Voelzel

Barton Hills Elementary School

Laura Embree, Amy Geltemeyer, and Claire Halbert

Casis Elementary School

Stephanie Hudgins and Jennifer Mangels

Cowan Elementary School

Susan Armstrong

Cunningham Elementary School

Shelby Bujan

Govalle Elementary School

Katie Turner

Harris Elementary School

Ilena Napoles

Metz Elementary School

Rebecca Flournoy

Perez Elementary School

Tarah Burris

Reilly Elementary School

Clifford Hall

Travis Heights Elementary School

Laura Honey

A three-year study by the National Research Council of the National Academies affirms National Board Certification has had a positive impact on student achievement, teacher retention and professional development.