Press Releases Banner

125th Anniversary Scholarships Awarded to 12 Austin ISD Seniors

When the Austin School District undertook its 125th Anniversary Celebration in 2006, the major goal was to establish an endowment fund that would award college scholarships to AISD graduates in perpetuity.

The first awards were made in 2007, and with awarding of scholarships in 2011, the fund continues to fulfill its annual goal.
Twelve seniors have been awarded college scholarships this year by the citizen-led 125th Anniversary Steering Committee. Scholarship funding was provided by corporate and community sponsors.

Awarding scholarships was a primary goal of the year-long anniversary celebration, said 125th Anniversary Tri-Chair Tommy Cowan.
"We're proud that AISD has been preparing students to face the challenges of the future through acquiring a strong education. We're especially proud that these scholarship awards will continue through many generations of students," Mr. Cowan said. "All donors and supporters of the 125th Anniversary Celebration have surely impacted the futures of these young people."

Other 125th Anniversary tri-chairs were former Austin Mayor Gus Garcia and community volunteer Ada Anderson. Together, the tri-chairs led a citizen's committee that raised half a million dollars to create an endowed scholarship fund that will sustain itself in years to come. The fund is administered through the Austin Community Foundation.

Awardees of the scholarships are the following members of Austin ISD's Class of 2011, listed with the scholarship sponsors.

Akins High School
Courtney Jackson
Sponsor: Tommy Cowan

Anderson High School
Jamie Feldt
Sponsor: Austin Energy

Austin High School
Alice Shen
Sponsor: Denius Foundation

Bowie High School
Maggie Widodo
Sponsor: Citibank

Crockett High School
Navit Jaimes
Sponsor: Austin Energy

Garza Independence High School
Mark Kilpatrick
Sponsor: 125th Committee

Breakthrough Program Graduates:

Austin High School
Aaron Cortez
Sponsor: Webber Family Foundation

Crockett High School
Brianna Walker
Sponsor: Applied Materials

Eastside Memorial High School
Angelica Robles
Sponsor: Silverton Foundation

Lanier High School
Mayra Flores
Sponsor: St. David's Community Health Foundation

McCallum High School
Jacquelyn Smith
Sponsor: Austin Coca-Cola Bottling Company

Travis High School
Rand Fowler
Sponsor: 125th Committee/Jerry Jarmon