Announcements banner

More than 95,500 Voters Cast Ballots Early in Trustee Election

More than 95,500 voters turned out during early voting in the election to choose five members of the Austin ISD Board of Trustees. 

Trustees serve four-year terms. The full board consists of nine members. Seats were open in geographical districts 1, 4, 6 and 7, and in the at-large position in District 9.

According to unofficial results from the Travis County Clerk’s office:

  • District 1—Edmund Gordon (35.56 percent), David Thompson (28.38 percent), P. Kevin Bryant (18.2 percent) and Stanton Strickland (17.86 percent)
  • District 4—Julie Cowan (77.84 percent) and Karen Flanagan (22.16 percent)
  • District 6—Paul Saldaña (36.14 percent), Kate Mason-Murphy (34.37 percent) and Monica Sanchez (29.49 percent)
  • District 7—Robert Schneider (53.89 percent) and Yasmin Wagner (46.11 percent)
  • District 9—Kendall Pace (41.43 percent), Hillary Procknow (23.63 percent), Nael Chavez (14.97 percent), Kazique J. Prince (12.23 percent) and Andy Trimino (7.74 percent)

Austin ISD trustees are unpaid representatives who guide the district and represent community expectations as they plan the direction of educational programs and services.

Trustees establish policies for operating the district and ensuring its financial viability. The board also employs the superintendent, approves the budget and monitors expenditures, sets the tax rate, and may call for a bond or tax rate election. 

A total of 95,572 votes were cast early, representing 23.41 percent of registered voters. All results are unofficial until votes have been canvassed by the Travis County Clerk’s Office.