Announcements banner

Celebrate Teaching Excellence at Salute - May 23

Salute, a tribute to teaching excellence throughout the district, will be held from 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Student performances begin at 5 p.m.), Wednesday, May 23 at the Long Center for the Performing Arts. This annual event, co-hosted by Austin ISD and Austin Partners in Education, will include a program recognizing our teachers, student performances and a honoree reception. We also will name the Austin Teacher of the Year, who will serve as the District’s nominee for the Texas Teacher of the Year Program. Learn about this year's Teacher of the Year finalists. 

Join us as we honor our Teachers of the Year, National Board Certified Teachers, Teachers of Promise and Principal and Classified Staff of the Year! 

Congratulations Salute award nominees! 

AISD Principal of the Year finalists:

  • Joel De La Garza, Pickle Elementary
  • Blaine Helwig, Graham Elementary
  • Donna Houser, Anderson High School

AISD Teacher of the Year finalists: Learn more.

  • Tracy Graham, Cowan Elementary
  • Alicia Brown-Forbes, Webb Middle School
  • Matt Earhart, Anderson High School

AISD Classified Staff of the Year finalists:

  • Rosalinda Rivera, Pickle Elementary
  • Janice Snyder, Crockett High School
  • Diana Luna de Valladares, Cunningham Elementary


Attendees will also enjoy student performances by:

  • Anderson High School Trojan Belles
  • McCallum Steel Drum Band
  • Gorzycki MIddle School Band
  • Bowie High School Jazz Band
  • Anderson High School Quartet
  • Allison Elementary School Choir

Visit our Salute webpage to learn more about this event. RSVPs are not required for Salute. If you have any other questions, please contact the AISD Office of Educator Quality at (512) 414-6672.