Announcements banner

Board Honors Staff, Volunteers Recognized at Salute

At its regular meeting Monday night, the Austin ISD Board of Trustees honored the winners of this year's Salute event. 

Co-hosted by Austin ISD and Austin Partners in Education, Salute annually recognizes outstanding staff members throughout the district.

This year's ceremony, held May 17 at the AISD Performing Arts Center, included the recognition of three PTAs of the year. 

Principal of the Year: Kenisha Coburn, Kealing Middle School

Assistant Principal of the Year: Brandy Gratten, Gus Garcia Young Men’s Leadership Academy

Counselor of the Year: Mary S. Wynn, Sadler Means Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Classified Staff of the Year: Ixtlani Palomo- Administrative Assistant, Andrews Elementary School

Librarian of the Year: Minda Anderson, Becker Elementary School

Elementary Teacher of the Year: Larry Perez, Barbara Jordan Elementary School

Secondary Teacher of the Year: Laurie Beaman, Lanier Early College High School

PTAs of the Year: Williams Elementary School, Murchison Middle School and Covington Middle School