Advocacy Advisory Committee

August 29, 2023 Meeting Minutes

The Advocacy Advisory Committee (AAC) met via Zoom on August 29, 2023 from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

The following attended the meeting:

<u>AAC members:</u> Daria Abramovitch, Andrew Bailey, Charlotte Blanch, Sandy Dochen, Sofia Dominguez- Trejo, Gabriel Estrada, Linzy Foster, Derek Georg, Shannon Grethel, Lana Hansen, Lisa Hernandez, Joshua Jeon, Amy Jones, Heidi Langan, Sara Levithan Daniels, Sarah McKenna, Ramya Nambala, Addison Old, Dalton Pool, Preston Roberts, Sarah Romo de Vivar, Zia Schwartz Kinzy, Becky Shaheen, Tania Tasneem, Angel Vales Lara, Amber White, and Shibh Dungar

AISD Trustees and Staff: Trustee Lynn Boswell, and Edna Butts,

The meeting was called to order by Co-Chairs Joshua Jean and Ramya Nambala at 6:05 p.m.

There was a motion by Sandy Dochen and seconded by Sarah Levithan to approve the minutes of the March 29, 2023 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Boswell and Edna Butts provided a brief overview of the 88th legislative session and a possible special session.

Co-chair Ramya Nambala provided an overview of AAC goals and the group discussed goals and creating an action plan. The group discussed the importance of meeting with legislators in person or via Zoom and with groups like Raise Your Hand Texas. They also discussed reaching out to other school districts, other education advocacy groups and the importance of involving family and friends in other communities throughout Texas.

The use of "one-pagers" on specific topics was discussed and a member volunteered to read drafts of one-pagers to provide feedback on clarity.

There was a discussion of the proposed new accountability "re-set" proposed by the Commissioner of Education.

The AAC discussed meeting every other month.

The meeting adjourned at 7:19 p.m.